Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

View: New views
7 Messages — Rating Filter:   Alert me  

Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

by Nageswaran :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Hey,

Did you hear about Scour? It is the next gen search engine with Google/Yahoo/MSN results and user comments all on one page. Best of all we get paid for using it by earning points with every search, comment and vote. The points are redeemable for Visa gift cards! It's like earning credit card or airline points just for searching! Hit the link below to join for free and we will both get points!

http://scour.com/invite/sanaari/

I know you'll like it!

- Sambasiva Rao

Re: Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

by Patrick Teglia-2 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

And I am wondering why this is on this list?

Patrick Teglia

On Thu, Jul 17, 2008 at 9:43 AM, Sambasiva Rao <support@...> wrote:
Hey,

Did you hear about Scour? It is the next gen search engine with Google/Yahoo/MSN results and user comments all on one page. Best of all we get paid for using it by earning points with every search, comment and vote. The points are redeemable for Visa gift cards! It's like earning credit card or airline points just for searching! Hit the link below to join for free and we will both get points!

http://scour.com/invite/sanaari/

I know you'll like it!

- Sambasiva Rao


Re: Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

by Charlie Gordon-2 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Because it's spam?

Maybe the development list should be minimally moderated, just so this
sort of thing doesn't get through (as well as the occasional support
request, etc).

Patrick Teglia wrote:
> And I am wondering why this is on this list?


Re: Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

by Jason Flatt-4 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

On Thu Jul 17 2008 7:18:32 pm Charlie Gordon wrote:
> Because it's spam?
>
> Maybe the development list should be minimally moderated, just so this
> sort of thing doesn't get through (as well as the occasional support
> request, etc).
>

With as little time as people have to do the important tasks, like database,
server and search optimization, I think it would be a bad idea to try and
moderate this list.  I get far more spam from my d.o account than I do from
this list.


--
Jason Flatt
http://www.oadaeh.net/
Father of Six:  http://www.flattfamily.com/ (Joseph, 15; Cramer, 13; Travis,
11; Angela; Harry, 8; and William, 2)
Linux User:     http://www.kubuntu.org/
Drupal Fanatic: http://drupal.org/

Re: Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

by Syscrusher-2 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

On Thu, 2008-07-17 at 22:49 -0700, Jason Flatt wrote:
> With as little time as people have to do the important tasks, like
> database,
> server and search optimization, I think it would be a bad idea to try
> and
> moderate this list.  I get far more spam from my d.o account than I do
> from
> this list.

How about setting the list so that each new subscriber's first post
needs moderation, but subsequent posts don't? That's what I do on public
lists I admin, and it works well with minimal moderator attention. If
their first post is spam, you drop the subscription and delete it. If
not, then you clear the moderation flag and let them run free.

Scott

--
Syscrusher <syscrusher@...>


Re: Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

by Michael Favia-2 :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

Patrick Teglia wrote:
> And I am wondering why this is on this list?

FWIW i doubt he was trying to even send it to this list but instead used
one of those contact list importers that social network providers have
and we were collateral damage. Lets give him the benefit of the doubt
and chalk it up to the equivalent of a cellphone ringing in during a
speech. Annoying but not malicious nor requiring draconian action. Then
again if he sends another one for Amway products I say we burn him at
the stake with all the other witches.

--
Michael Favia                   michael@...
tel. 512.585.5650            http://www.favias.org

Re: Scour.com invite from Sambasiva Rao

by sumit kataria :: Rate this Message:

Reply to Author | View Threaded | Show Only this Message

yeah may be Scour contacts import thing pulled this mail address from his contact list ;)
But spam will remain spam

sad behavior sanari9@...

On Fri, Jul 18, 2008 at 9:21 PM, Michael Favia <michael@...> wrote:
Patrick Teglia wrote:
And I am wondering why this is on this list?

FWIW i doubt he was trying to even send it to this list but instead used one of those contact list importers that social network providers have and we were collateral damage. Lets give him the benefit of the doubt and chalk it up to the equivalent of a cellphone ringing in during a speech. Annoying but not malicious nor requiring draconian action. Then again if he sends another one for Amway products I say we burn him at the stake with all the other witches.

--
Michael Favia                   michael@...
tel. 512.585.5650            http://www.favias.org



--
Warm Regards
sumit kataria
cell 91-9888546343
www.sumitk.net
LightInTheBox - Buy quality products at wholesale price